Home

IMG_3333 I always feel a little guilty when I order Hainanese chicken rice when I go out to eat – only because I know my Dad makes this dish perfectly and so I should probably be going home for it instead of out. The only times I don’t feel bad is when the chef brings out this delicious scallion sauce. This is the one sauce Dad fails to bring out with his chicken :D!

Chinese scallion ginger oil is lovely with cold poached chicken or any seafood.

You will need:

  • 1 cup of finely chopped scallion (green onion)
  • 1 thumb sized piece of fresh ginger, peeled and grated
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 cup of vegetable oil
  • 1 tbs of grated lemon rind (optional)
1. Stir together the scallions, grated ginger and salt in a heatproof bowl.
2. Heat the oil in a  saucepan on low heat for about 5 minutes
3. Remove the oil from heat and slowly pour into the scallion/ginger mixture a bit at a time, stirring in between.
4. Add the grated lemon rind now and stir in. This isn’t traditional but I’m a little obsessed with lemon rind at the moment, so why not.
5. Wait until the mixture cools down before serving.

Leave a comment